Friday, December 18, 2009

The Nominees Ball!

You never know how a Nominees Ball is going to go!

But as Nominees Balls go, well, this one went well!

But wait! WHAT is a Nominees BALL????
Moving on...

Got there at 6pm, thanks to the queue i had to join to be able to get there. Chei! Fuel Scarcity at christmas? We reject it!!!

The Red Carpet was red, and the cameras were flashing! Some people juts popped on that carpet! Loved Ify Otuya, Denrele, Dipo Okuribido, Yvonne Vixen, and of course, those models with the impossibly long legs!

There were cocktails, and of course i made a beeline for that table! But also had time to air kiss, hug, peck, get one or two autographs (yes o!), and took pictures! The ushers looked simple but nice (white and green can pop you know) and there was just a general good vibe around!

The venue was Terra Kulture, and my friend made me go eat Ofada Rice at the restuarant before things kicked off. So blame her for my missing the first set of nominee categories that were called.

Thankfully, i did not miss Fela Durotoye's interesting speech, nor the next set, nor the fashion show (House of Nwocha had some clothes o! Chei!). Problem was, for some reason, the audience was just sitting and being a tad stiff! Made noisemakers like myself go quiet and stand for most of the event.

I mean, from Lami, to Segun Obe, to the M.C's (Gbemileke and Seun), the content was fab! And not to mention Whiz Kid...

You first heard him on 'Fast Money Fast Cars' where he did the hook, but get ready to HOLLER AT YOUR BOY soon!

Everyone looked good by the way.... but... with no dress code, we were all free to decide! I opted for a black and white dress (and so did most of the other ladies). Spotted some really interesting outfits. And this for the Nominees Ball? So what will happen at the Awards proper?

Okay na!

Congratulations to all the nominees, especially those who showed up! Ha! Ha! Ha!

The Future Awards 2010 holds in February, and below is a list of all nominees.

No, i will not be making predictions


Full Nominees List for The Future Awards 2010

Actor of the Year

Omoni Oboli

Gideon Okeke

Mercy Johnson

Kemi Lala Akindoju

Tonto Dikeh

Ali Nuhu

Mercy Aigbe

Nonso Diobi

Best Use of Advocacy

Tunde David (YGC Africa)

Stephen Oguntoyinbo (Talk Village International)

Onodi Daniel Chinedu (Nigerian Youth Association, Benin Republic)

Ndubude Matthew Ekene (Nigeria Youth Fight Against Malaria)

Emmanuel Odiase (Smokefree Foundation)

Chuks Etuka (Will to Survive)

Isoke Aikpitanyi (Casa de Isoke)

Light Up Nigeria

Best Use of Science

Oteri Ogoghorie (0.1 Seconds Automatic Changeover)

Akintunde Babatunde (Novel tidal-flow constructed wetland system for wastewater treatment)

Ify Aniebo (Research in malaria)

Bade Adesemowo (Power Back Alarm)

Tosin Ogunrinde (Invention in robotics)

Okelola Mayokun (Research in climate change)

Godspower Oboide (Magnetic safety bumpers)

Kamal Olaleye (Power inverter innovation)

Best Use of Technology

Bode Pedro (Veda Technologies)

Ike Orizu (

Olufemi Akande (iWorks)

Temi Kolawole (Antigravity)

Uche Eze (

Saheed Adejuwon (DigiWorks)

GobbleAbba Studios

Jay Aloysius-Chukwuemeka (Bluelabs LLC)

Businesss Owner of the Year

Oghenekaro Agono (Tremor Perfect)

Erefe Fynecountry (Deheney Services)

Debola Lewis (Yvent Couture)

Ayo Arigbagbu (Dada Books)

Hassan Rilwan (Focal Point Publishing)

Henry Oraika (Motomedia)

Uyi Omokaro (DM2)

Sylvester Olusola Adade (Pearl Creations)

Creative Artist of the Year

Olanrewaju Oluwafemi

Onyeka Nwelue

Andrew Esiebo

Jumoke Verissimo

Babadeji Ogunnubi

Adekunle Samuel Owolabi

Yakaa Celestine

Richardson Oviebo

Excellence in Public Service

Dr. Iofarfa Tor-ayin (Federal Medical Centre, Makurdi)
Emmanuel Etim (UNFPA)

Jerry Uchechukwu Eze (UNFPA)

Dr. Idoko Abraham Braimah (General Hospital, Lagos)

Fatima Zara Modibbo (Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria)

Dr. Adedayo Osholowu (Lagos University Teaching University)

Ngozi Iheukwumere (University Teaching Hospital, Ilorin)

Oluwatoyin Jegede (Engineering Department, University of Lagos)

Journalist of the Year

Toyosi Ogunseye (The Punch)

Ruona Agbroko (NEXT)

Rachel Ogbu (Newswatch)

Chinedu Iroche (NEXT)

Segun Adeoye (TELL)

Amina Alhassan (Daily Trust)

Afolabi Oyekoya (Citypeople)

Funke Adetutu (BusinessDay)

Magazine of the Year


Soundcity Blast

The Applause






Model of the Year

Aminat Ayinde

Ibukun Jegede

Olubunmi Ademokoya

Tayo Ishola

Warebi Martha

Isi Atagamen

Bisi Sowemimo

Owobowale Ogunlaja

Musician of the Year

Darey Art-Alade

Wande Coal

Banky W



Rooftop MCs



Music Producer of the Year

Jesse Jagz

DJ Clem


K Solo

Tee Y Mix

Dokta Frabz

Terry G


On-Air Personality of the Year (Radio)

Tosyn Bucknor (Top Radio)

Matse Uwatse (Wazobia FM)

Toolz (Beat FM)

Amake and Charles (Hot FM)

Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi (Beat FM)

Gbemileke Oyinsan (Inspiration FM)

Bernie Ark (Cool FM Abuja)

Chuks Roberts (Cosmo FM Enugu)

On-Air Personality of the Year (TV)

Yvonne Ekwere (Silverbird TV)

Cynthia Okpala (MTV Base)

Adaure Achumba (Silverbird TV)

Denrele Edun (Soundcity)

Gloria Ebong (Channels TV)

Veronica Onuchi (HiSoccer)

Deji Falope (Street Dance)

Andre Blaze (Nigezie)

Professional of the Year

Franklin Ozekhome (Insight Communications)

Abdularahman Aliyu (Abuja Investments Company Limited)

Simi Dosekun (Kachifo Limited)

Ifeanyi Ajuluchukwu (Access Bank)

Dipo Okuribido (Banwo & Ighodalo)

Fopefoluwa Adebayo (Goldman Sachs)

Aneto Okonkwo (Management Consultant)

Ifunnaya Maduka (Dean of Students, Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls)

Screen Producer of the Year

Kemi Adetiba (Dragon Fly Productions)

Clarence Peters (Capital Productions)

Tola Odunsi (Storm Productions)

Imoh Umoren (Ultima Studios)

Chuka Ejorh (NeverMachine South Africa)

Yinka Obebe (Nigezie)

Gbenga Salu (Renders & Illusion)

Kenneth Gyang (“Finding Aisha”)

Sportsperson of the Year

Osaze Odemwingie (Football)

Vivian Chukwuemeka (Shotput)

Mikel Obi (Football)

Ikechukwu Uche (Football)

Fatima Abinu (Lawn Tennis)

Obafemi Martins (Football)

Janet Dung (Athletics)

Aruna Quadri (Table Tennis)

Style Entrepreneur of the Year

Muyiwa Osindero (Clothesense)

Uche Nnaji (Ouch!)

Tobi Vincent (Alvince)

Linda Ikeji (Blackdove Communications)

Ugonna Umeruo (House of Nwaocha)

Adetola Olateju (Xquizit)

Biobelemoye Omoniyegha (Labelle’s Touch)

Funke Ogunde (Phunk Afrique)

Team of the Year

Africa Youth for Change

Knighthouse Productions

Light Up Nigeria

Yellow Dog Productions

Salsa Federation in Nigeria

The Umusu Wives

Gbagyichild Entertainment

Glitz Youths

Young Person of the Year

Ik Osakioduwa (On Air Personality)

Toyosi Akerele (Youth Advocate)

Tolu Ogunlesi (Journalist)

Asa (Bukola Elemide) (Singer/Performer)

Ify Aniebo (Scientist)

Qudus Onikeku (Dance professional)

Stephanie Okereke (Actor/Movie Producer)

Cobhams Asuquo (Music Producer)


  1. All the best to them oo, I've voted for a few.

  2. rounded off my voting via the internet
    gettin ready for marathon voting by phone

    looking forward to wizkid's big break, heard a couple of underground stuff and yes GET READY TO HOLLA at WizKid

    all the best to everyone on the nominees list
    ....may the best (wo)man(s) win!

    congrats on the award u got a couple of weeks too Miss Speechgirl Bucknor..bigup to u
    hope we get to work together this new year